am 22.7.2017
um 20:00 Uhr
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2

A Death In The Gunj

Category: Feature Films | Duration: 110 min | Language: English, Bengali with English ST


This coming-of-age film, set in 1979, is about shy student Shyamal Chatterjee, known as Shutu. He uses the family trip to McCluskie Gunj, an old Anglo-Indian city, as an escape from dropping out of university.

At the beginning everything goes well, but soon it becomes clear that something bad is happening. In the following weeks the situation becomes considerably worse, until one day Shutu has a break down – only for nobody to take him seriously – and the holiday ends in a fiasco.

The recently-deceased Indian veteran actor Om Puri, known for his commercially-successful Indian, British and Hollywood films, as well as several independent productions, features in his last role as Unkle O. P. Bakshi.

The film takes places in McKluskie Gunj, the Anglo-Indian settlement that was started in the 1930s with 300 Anglo-Indian families. In the late 70s only 30 were still there, as the majority had moved to the bigger cities. Eventually the city was left to the families of the tribes who originally lived there, but the tribes, just like the diminishing group of Anglo-Indians and Adivasi-Native People before them, have difficulties integrating into the larger parts of Indian society. They seem to not truly belong anywhere in what seems to be an alien world. ‘A Death in the Gunj’ is the first film that was filmed entirely in The Gunj.


am 22.7.2017
um 18:00 Uhr
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2


Konkona Sensharma


Honey Trehan

Abishek Chaubey

Raagii Bhatnagar

Ashish Bhatnagar

Vijay Kumar Swami


Konkona Sensharma


Sirsha Ray


Aarif Sheikh

Manas Mittal


Sagar Desai

Sound Design:

Kunal Sharma

Production Designer:

Siddharth Sirohi


Vikrant Massey

Ranvir Shorey

Kalki Koechlin

Tillotama Shome

Gulshan Devaiah

Jim Sarbh

Tanuja Mukherjee

Om Puri

deutschland
premiere

am 22.7.2017
um 20:00 Uhr
im
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2

A Death In The Gunj

Kategorie: Feature Films | Filmlänge: 110 min | Sprache: English, Bengali with English ST

Beschreibung

Dieser Coming-of-Age-Film spielt im Jahr 1979 und handelt von dem schüchternen Studenten Shyamal Chatterjee, genannt Shutu. Er nutzt den Familienausflug nach McCluskie Gunj, einer alten anglo-indischen Stadt, als Flucht vor der bitteren Tatsache, dass er im vergangenen Semester versagt hat.

Zu Beginn scheint alles in bester Ordnung, doch bald wird klar: Etwas läuft hier gewaltig schief. In der folgenden Woche wird dies immer deutlicher. Bis Shutu schließlich einen Zusammenbruch hat – ohne dass dies allerdings von den feiernden Familienmitgliedern wirklich wahrgenommen wird – und der Urlaub in einem Fiasko endet.

Der kürzlich verstorbene indische Filmveteran Om Puri, bekannt aus dem kommerziellen indischen Kino, aus britischen und aus Hollywood-Filmen sowie aus zahlreichen Independent-Produktionen, ist hier in seiner letzten Rolle als Onkel O. P. Bakshi zu sehen.

Der Film spielt in McCluskie Gunj, der anglo-indischen Siedlung, die in den 1930er Jahren mit 300 anglo-indischen Familien gegründet wurde. In den späten 70er Jahren waren davon nur noch 30 übrig, da die meisten nach und nach in die größeren Städte gezogen waren. Die Stadt wurde schließlich den ursprünglich dort lebenden Familien von Stammesbewohnern überlassen. In der gleichen Weise, wie die kleiner werdende Gruppe von Anglo-Indern und Adivasi-Ureinwohnern, ihre Schwierigkeiten hatten, sich in die Mehrheitsgesellschaft Indiens zu integrieren, ergeht es auch den Protagonisten des Films: Diese scheinen nirgendwo richtig dazuzugehören in einer ihnen fremden Welt. ‚A Death in the Gunj' ist der erste Film, der komplett in The Gunj spielt.

deutschland
premiere

am 22.7.2017
um 18:00 Uhr
im
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2

Regie:

Konkona Sensharma

Produzent:

Honey Trehan

Abishek Chaubey

Raagii Bhatnagar

Ashish Bhatnagar

Vijay Kumar R Swami

Drehbuch:

Konkona Sensharma

Kamera:

Sirsha Ray

Schnitt:

Aarif Sheikh

Manas Mittal

Musik:

Sagar Desai

Ton:

Kunal Sharma

Production Designer:

Siddharth Sirohi

Darsteller:

Vikrant Massey

Ranvir Shorey

Kalki Koechlin

Tillotama Shome

Gulshan Devaiah

Jim Sarbh

Tanuja Mukherjee

Om Puri