screening

 

am 20.7.2017
um 20:00 Uhr
im
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2

Gurgaon

Category: Feature Films | Duration: 107 min | Language: Hindi with English ST

description

"Gurgaon" is a modern thriller of contemporary Indian cinema, whose plot comes from the country’s rapidly developing economy.

 

Gurgaon is a region of Haryana, Northern India, and is one of the most economically developed regions in South Asia. The industrialist Kehri Singh welcomes Preet, his adopted daughter, home after finishing her architectural studies. But not everybody in the family is happy about Preet's homecoming. Singh's eldest son, Nikki, treats her badly and insults her. He gives his stepsister the feeling that she doesn’t really belong to the family, and is an intruder who is taking up his place in the family.

 

Nikki, the quintessential spoilt son, is always struggling to prove himself to his father - and never manages to fulfill his father’s lofty expectations of him. His business ideas fail or aren’t even used - while the father obviously thinks a lot of Preet and her abilities.

 

Against the backdrop of the patriarchal structures of Indian society, the film shows the disappointment and frustration of a man, who must live with the fact that his father favours his daughter, who is not even biologically related, over him.

Europa
premiere

 

am 20.7.2017
um 22:00 Uhr
im
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2

Director:

Shanker Raman

Producer:

Ajay Rai

Associate Producer:

Avani Batra

Executive Producer:

Rakesh Bhagwni

Writer:

Vipin Bhati

Shanker Raman

Sourabh Ratnu

Yogi Singha

Music:

Naren Chandavarkar

Benedict Tayoor

Cinematography:

Vivek Shah

Editor:

Shan Mohammed

Cast:

Akshay Oberoi

Pankaj Tripathy

Aamir Bashir

Ragini Khanna

Shalini Vatsa

Srinivas Sunderrajan

Vorstellung

 

am 20.7.2017
um 20:00 Uhr
im
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2

Gurgaon

Kategorie: Feature Films | Filmlänge: 107 min | Sprache: Hindi with English ST

Beschreibung

‚Gurgaon’ ist einer der modernen Thriller des aktuellen indischen Kinos, deren Handlung sich aus der rasend schnell entwickelnden Ökonomie des Landes speist.

Gurgaon ist eine Region im Bundesstatt Haryana im Norden Indiens und eine der wirtschaftlich am besten entwickelten Regionen in ganz Südasien. Der Großindustrielle Kehri Singh heißt seine Adoptivtochter Preet zuhause willkommen, nachdem diese ihr Architekturstudium beendet hat. Doch nicht die ganze Familie ist glücklich über Preets Heimkehr. Singhs ältester Sohn Nikki ist wenig herzlich, beleidigt sie und verhält sich feindselig. Er gibt seiner Stiefschwester das Gefühl, nicht wirklich zur Familie zu gehören, ein Eindringling zu sein, der unrechtmäßig den Platz einnimmt, der eigentlich ihm, dem Sohn zustünde.

Nikki, Paradeexemplar eines verwöhnten Sprosses, ist stets krampfhaft bemüht, sich seinem Vater zu beweisen – und schafft es doch nie, die in ihn gesetzten Erwartungen zu erfüllen. Seine Geschäftsideen scheitern oder werden gar nicht erst gefördert – während der Vater offensichtlich große Stücke von Preet und ihren Fähigkeiten hält.

Vor dem Hintergrund der patriarchalen Strukturen der indischen Gesellschaft zeigt der Film das große Ausmaß an Enttäuschung und Frustration eines Mannes, der damit leben muss, dass eine Frau – die noch nicht einmal das leibliche Kind des Vaters ist – bevorzugt wird.

Europa
premiere

 

am 20.7.2017
um 22:00 Uhr
im
Metropol Kino Stuttgart Saal 2

Regie:

Shanker Raman

Produzent:

Ajay Rai

Co-Produzent:

Avani Batra

Ausführender Producer:

Rakesh Bhagwni

Drehbuch:

Vipin Bhati

Shanker Raman

Sourabh Ratnu

Yogi Singha

Musik:

Naren Chandavarkar

Benedict Tayoor

Kamera:

Vivek Shah

Schnitt:

Shan Mohammed

Mit:

Akshay Oberoi

Pankaj Tripathy

Aamir Bashir

Ragini Khanna

Shalini Vatsa

Srinivas Sunderrajan