Uma Da Cunha

 

UDC Thumbnail.jpgUma da Cunha’s film career has been devoted to promoting Indian cinema at home and abroad starting in 1974 when she organized film events for the Indian government. In recent years, she has helped the Museum of Modern Art and the Film Society of Lincoln Center with their India-related film festivals.

She has been the founder, coordinator and advisor for festivals that are devoted entirely to Indian cinema such as the River to River Indian Film Festival in Florence, the Indian Film Festival of Los Angeles (IFFLA), and the Houston International Film Festival.

At the 2009 Cannes International Film Festival, Mrs. da Cunha was a member of the Un Certain Regard international jury. She worked as casting director for ‘Monsoon Wedding’, ‘Holy Smoke’, ‘Lagaan’, ‘Earth’, ‘Water’ and ‘Outsourced’ among others. A well-known film critic, she is also editor of the magazine Film India Worldwide, and since 1975 Indian Correspondent of the International Film Guide.

Uma da Cunha

 

UDC Thumbnail.jpg

Seit 1974 ist Uma da Cunhas Karriere von der Förderung des indischen Kinos in Indien und über dessen Grenzen hinaus geprägt. 1974 organisierte sie für die indische Regierung erste Filmevents. Zuletzt unterstützte Sie das Museum of Modern Art und die Film Society of Lincoln bei deren indischen Filmfestivals.

Uma da Cunha ist Gründerin, Kuratorin und Programmverantwortliche für zahlreiche Festivals, die sich dem indischen Film widmen, so zum Beispiel dem River to River Indian Film Festival in Florenz, dem Indian Film Festival of Los Angeles und dem Houston International Film Festival.

2009 wurde Uma da Cunha in die Un Certain Regard International Jury des Cannes International Film Festival berufen. Als Casting Director betreute sie unter anderem folgende Filme: ‚Monsoon Wedding’, ‚Holy Smoke’, ‚Lagaan’, ‚Earth’, ‚Water’ und ‚Outsourced’. Zudem ist sie Filmkritikerin und die Herausgeberin des Magazins India World Wide. Seit 1975 arbeitet sie als indische Korrespondentin des International Film Guide.