Haobam_Paban_Kumar_Director_Loktak_Lairambee_(Lady_Of_The_Lake).jpgHaobam Paban Kumar


Haobam Paban Kumar is a graduate of the Satyajit Ray Film and Television Institute Kolkata (SRFTI). He entered the spotlight with his film 'AFSPA, 1958' (2006), for which he won the International Jury and FIPRESCI Award at the 9th Mumbai International Film Festival 2006. The film also won the Swarna Kamal for Best Documentary at the 56th National Film Awards 2008, while many of his other films, for example 'The Cry in the Dark' (2006), 'The First Leap' (2008), 'Mr India' (2009), 'Ruptured Spring' (2012), have also been awarded prizes. His current venture is the feature film ‘Loktak Lairembee’ [Lady of the Lake] (2016), whose world premiere was held at the 21st Busan International Film Festival in 2016.